What Really Happens When Files Are Deleted from Your PC?

After deleting files from computer, you may think that these files have disappeared permanently. However, most of time, the fact is not like what you think. Here, in this article, we will expose what actually happens when you delete files.  

It is very common that you accidentally delete a file from your computer at times by either “Delete” or “Shift + Delete” key button. After a while, if you discover that the deleted file is still useful, you must be going to regret and would like to bring it back. Actually, you don’t need to be afraid of losing it forever. Most of time, the deleted files do not disappear from your PC permanently. Now, in the followings, we will tell you what really happens when a file is deleted from your computer.

What Really Happens When Files Are Deleted from Your PC?

Move to Trash/Recycle Bin

If you delete a file simply by pressing the “Delete” key or choosing the “Delete” option from the file’s right clicking menu, generally speaking, this file is virtually moved to the “Trash” or “Recycle Bin”, instead of being deleted. Therefore, if you accidentally delete a file, you should firstly check the “Trash” or “Recycle Bin”. It’s very likely that the file is over there.

Delete File Records Only

Yet, if you delete a file by pressing the shortcut – “Shift + Delete” key or a file is deleted after you cut it but fail to paste, you will not be able to find it in “Trash” or “Recycle Bin”. But, it doesn’t mean that it has vanished into air forever. In reality, only its file record has been removed from the original unit in the computer hard drive and this unit is marked as empty for availability. The file itself will be kept in the drive until new data gets written to this unit. Hence, before that, you still can use relevant professional data recovery software to recover the deleted file, like using PST recovery tool to recover PST data.

Permanently Erase Data

To ensure that a file is truly deleted from your computer, you can have two options, as follow:

1. Data Overwrite

As mentioned in the 2rd part above, the deleted files can be cleared thoroughly until overwrite. Thereby, to completely delete files, you can first delete them and then rewrite over the old files with new data over and over again. As a matter of fact, there are a lot of such tools available in today’s market.

2. Physical Destruction

If you hope to give away a hard drive, you need to erase the disk data fully. In this scenario, you can just destroy the drive physically to your utmost. For instance, it is a good idea to knock the hard drive with hammer heavily until it gets into fragments. Only in this way, you needn’t fear your data being leaked.

Author Introduction:

Shirley Zhang is a data recovery expert in DataNumen, Inc., which is the world leader in data recovery technologies, including mdf fix and outlook repair software products. For more information visit www.datanumen.com