Why You Should Change the Status of Secured Database to Unsecured while Sharing It

Here we explain it to you why setting the database status to unsecured can be of help when shifting to unsecured locations. This article also gives the steps for the same.

It is unlikely that a user would change the status of his/her secured database to an unsecured database. However, this is a necessary exercise if they wish to install or share that database in any form in an unsecured environment. However, users don’t have to worry about their secured database as it remains unchanged in this process, as it demands users to create a new database if the information is imported from the existing secured database.Change The Status Of Your Secured Database To Unsecure

Things to remember while changing these Settings

Before changing the security setting of their database, the user needs to change the Database ownership in the file. The owner is the administrator or the creator of the Database. The owner is the only person who has full access and rights to access or to grant permission to other groups to access the database. Admin Group members also share the same privileges as the owner.

  • The user trying to convert these database security settings should have Read Permission on all Database Objects.
  • Note that hidden Objects are not transferred to the target Database during sharing.

Steps to Change the status of your Secured Database to Unsecured Database

  • Step 1: Create a Database.
  • Select Get External DataStep 2: Go to File > then Select Get External Data > and then Import.
  • Step 3: Browse and open the database that you want to convert.
  • Step 4: Double-Click on the Tables Tab. Now select all the Tables from the database that you wish to import by clicking the Select All Command Button.
  • Step 5: Users need to repeat this method for importing different Modules, Macros, Reports, forms and Queries in the unsecured database.
  • Step 6: If the database that you are importing has custom ‘Menu and Toolbars’, then select options.
  • Step 7: Add a check-mark on the ‘Menu and Toolbars’ option list.
  • Step 8: Now click ‘OK’, and all the objects except from the hidden contents will be imported into the new database.

Access privileges of this new database will be set by default. And by default, every user is a member of the new database and has the full access to its rights. But, if the user wants to share this database to a network, he/she might have to make a few changes.

Steps to Change the setting of an Unsecured Database while sharing it with a Network

  • Step 1: Go to Tools > Options > Advanced
  • Step 2: Select Share, located under Default Open Mode Group option.
  • Step 3: Click on Edit Record > Record Level Locking and open the database.
  • Step 4: Now click Ok and the Dialog Box will close.
  • Step 5: Go to Tools – -> Security – -> User and Group Permissions.
  • Step 6: Click on Admin Name which will be located under User/Group Name List.
  • Step 7: Now go to Object Type Control and select your preferred Database Objects.
  • Step 8: Go to Open Exclusive Option and remove its check-mark.
  • Step 9: Click Ok and the changes in the Dialog Box will be saved automatically.

You have created a new database with only default security. Note that your old database will remain untouched of these changes.

Business users of MS Access must have an in place tool that can repair Access databases to deal with incidents of data corruption. Such specialized tools go a long way in keeping your data accessible even after a crash.

Author Introduction:

Vivian Stevens is a data recovery expert in DataNumen, Inc., which is the world leader in data recovery technologies, including sql recovery and excel recovery software products. For more information visit www.datanumen.com

Comments are closed.