5 Effective Tricks to Avoid Mistaken Deletion on Your Computer

As we all know, one of the top reasons for data loss is human errors. And mistaken deletion is the most common one when dealing with computer data. This article will look at the mistaken deletion and suggest you 5 useful tricks.

When it comes to data loss, an overwhelming majority of people must have suffered a lot. Even so, many people still don’t have correct awareness about data protection. It is known that many factors can cause data losses, including natural disasters, power failures, data storage media damage, virus infection and human errors, etc. From the perspective of computer users, human errors are most common. And one of the errors is mistaken deletion. To be honest, it comes from users’ carelessness. Therefore, users should develop some good habits and make some additional configurations to avoid the harms of mistaken deletion.Mistaken Deletion

1. Utilize Windows Backup Feature

First of all, for the sake of preventing data losses, you should persist in regular data backups. Fortunately, if you’re using Windows operating system on your PC, it comes endowed with two backup features. They are “Restore and Backup” and “Previous Versions” respectively. From the backups, you can retrieve mistakenly deleted files with utmost ease. For instance, if you accidentally delete a PST file, you can recover Outlook PST from the backups like a breeze.

2. Carefully Check Recycle Bin before Emptying It

Moreover, many users are accustomed to emptying the Recycle Bin regularly as it can free up more storage space and improve the computer performance. Sure, it is a good habit. But before emptying, have you checked it? Without any doubts, it is very likely that there may be some vital and mistaken deleted files. Therefore, it is highly advisable to first check Recycle Bin before emptying it. Perhaps you’ll find some useful files.

3. Better Not to Use “Shift + Delete” Shortcuts

Pressing “Delete” key button will simply move the files to Recycle Bin. But “Shift + Delete” shortcuts will pass the Recycle Bin and delete the files permanently. Therefore, if you are used to deleting files by the shortcuts, you had better change the habit now. Otherwise, once you delete any files mistakenly, you won’t be able to get back them from Recycle Bin, namely no room for maneuver.

4. Change the Maximum File Size for Recycle Bin

Many must have noticed that when you try to delete large files, you will receive a prompt, mentioning that the file is too large for the Recycle Bin. If you hit “Yes”, it will be deleted permanently. Actually you’re allowed to change the maximum file size for Recycle Bin on basis of your actual needs. Right click the Recycle Bin and select “Properties”. Then in the popup dialog box, you can set the maximum size (MB) in “Custom Size” label.

5. Turn off Computer as Soon as You Realize Mistaken Deletion

Last but not least, whenever you delete any files mistakenly and realize the error, you have to turn off the computer right now. It is because if you keep computer running, new data may be constantly written into the drive and take up the space where deleted files were originally located. You should bear in mind a truth that overwriting data will render data recovery impossible.

Author Introduction:

Shirley Zhang is a data recovery expert in DataNumen, Inc., which is the world leader in data recovery technologies, including repair damaged SQL Server mdf and outlook repair software products. For more information visit www.datanumen.com

Comments are closed.